Award Anticipation

The Youth Media Awards, including the Caldecott and Newbery Awards, will be announced in a few hours. Last year I was able to attend the awards in person for the first time. I got up early to be one of the first in line. This year I wasn’t able to attend but I will still be listening to the live webcast. I’m thrilled that my daughters have a snow day today and will get to listen in with me.

The awards always spark much discussion among many of my children’s lit and teacher friends. Monica Edinger – 4th grade teacher, blogger, & author – wrote an insightful post over at Nerdy Book Club, Top Ten Things You May Not Know About the Newbery Award. As a former committee member, she shares some insightful thoughts.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Award Anticipation

  1. I was so pleased with the Caldecott this year! And the Printz was a bit of a shocker– I felt like the audience was so surprised to not hear John Green’s name.

Leave a Reply

