It’s Monday, What Are You Reading…

Be sure to check out the fabulous teachmentortexts to see what others are reading!

This week I read:

Homer written and illustrated by Elisha Cooper

The calm and steady character of Homer the dog are integrated into every aspect of this book; from a simple yet meaningful text to gorgeous water color illustrations. Framed, single-page spreads show Homer’s vantage point from the porch throughout the day. Occasional double-page spreads with full bleeds “speak” for Homer without needing text. This is a dog who is completely satisfied with his life.

House Held Up By Trees written by Ted Kooser, illustrated by Jon Klassen

I reread this book in preparation for a discussion about realistic fiction in my children’s literature course this week. Kooser’s prose is beautifully written and the accompanying illustrations showcase a variety of points of view. The color palate is subtle and is a great example of green representing life, even when it seems it may not go on.

Grandpa Green written and illustrated by Lane Smith

I’ve read this book many times and was not disappointed on this reread. The students in my children’s literature course are also reading (and rereading) it in preparation for our first class discussion and their first papers. I’m always struck by the intricacies of the illustrations and the different ways that I think about the grandson and his grandfather.

Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz

This story has not disappointed. Schlitz’s ability to weave together magic, history, social class, and mystery create a tale that engaged me from the first page. She gives enough information to bring me in without making things predictable. I’m looking forward to finishing off the last few chapters tonight!

This coming week:

I’m still working on No Crystal Stair by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, it’s next on my tbr stack. I also picked up The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater at the library yesterday. I’ve not read any of her books, but she is going to be at our local independent bookstore this coming friday and I’m planning on taking my daughter. I was hoping to get her newest, The Raven Boys, but it was checked out.

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading…

  1. I too am reading Splendors and Glooms right now, and I totally agree, she draws you in quick! I’m not very far in yet, but I’m totally trying to guess how the two story lines are going to merge. So much unspoken tension!

    House Held Up By Trees was lovely, but haunting, too!

  2. I need to get my hands on Grandpa Green soon – I’m a huge Lane Smith (and Jon Scieszka) fan. House held up by trees also sounds like something that would appeal to me. Jon Klassen’s I want my hat back got so many mixed reviews previously, that I’d love to see more of his other works. Will check out Splendors and Glooms. 🙂

    • Grandpa Green is amazing – but quite different from Smith’s other books. I think that is one of the things that I love about it as part of his body of work, it shows how diverse he is as an illustrator and author. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

