It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

I’m working on creating a “school-year” reading routine for myself. During the summer months I have some more flexibility and don’t need to be quite as plan-full. Thankfully, our local library had some great new books to get me started!

Remember to check out Teach Mentor Texts to see what others have been reading!

What I read last week:

The Hueys in The New Sweater written and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers

Oliver Jeffers is a genius – both as a storyteller and illustrator. When we talk about picture books in my children’s literature course, I want the students to understand the role of brevity – both in text and illustration – and this is fantastic example.

Marisol McDonald Doesn’t Match / Marisol McDonald no combination story by Monica Brown illustrations by Sara Palacios

This thoughtful story about a young girl who is a “creative, unique, bilingual, Peruvian-Scottish-American, soccer-playing artist” is published with both english and spanish text. I love the potential discussions that could follow a reading of this about identity, how we define ourselves, and diversity.

The Obstinate Pen written and illustrated by Frank W. Dormer

Funny story about a pen that people just don’t want to listen to, when a young boy finally does some wonderful things happen.

The Insomniacs written by Karina Wolf illustrated by The Brothers Hilts

I loved this quirky story about a family who is adjusting to moving across multiple time zones and finding a rhythm that works for them. As someone who struggles with insomnia, it is refreshing to read – and see – it set in a positive “light”. (I know it’s a bad pun, couldn’t help myself.)

Isabella’s Garden written by Glenda Millard and illustrated by Rebecca Cool

Rich, vibrant illustrations accompany this sweet add-on story in the style of “the House the Jack Built”. This is particularly close to my heart because I was able to see some of the original artwork at an exhibit in Sydney, Australia over the summer.

What I’m reading now

Same Sun Here by Silas House & Neela Vaswani

So far I’m loving the dual voices in this book about pen pals from New York City and Kentucky.

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. I love Oliver Jeffers and have just added it and many of your other PBs to my “list”. I too agree that some of the best picture books are a magical combination of a few words and skilled illustrations. I’ve been hearing such great things about Same Sun Here. I look forward to reading it!

  2. These are all unfamiliar titles to me but they look exactly like my kind of books! Is that a new Oliver Jeffers title I see? I dont think I’ve ever seen that one yet. Marisol and Obstinate Pen also seem like great reads. Thanks for sharing all these lovelies.

    • Myra –
      Yes it is a new Jeffers title, I was really excited to see it! Isabel’s Garden was very popular in Australia when I was there this summer – or at least almost all of the bookstores were carrying it so I saw it a lot. All of the other picture books were all new for me thanks to our public library. I’ll look forward to hearing your thoughts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

