It’s Monday June 4, What Are You Reading?

This past week (or 2) I read:

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein is an absolutely stunning book. I read this via NetGalley and was absolutely blown away by the writing – the characters are rich and multi-dimension and the story drew me in. There were a few twists that I didn’t anticipate that made me love it even more. Wein clearly did her research before writing this amazing work of historical fiction. I’m sure we’ll be seeing some medals on the cover come next year!

Sadie and Ratz by Sonya Hartnett is a lovely and honest story about siblings. I picked up an ARC of this at ALA Midwinter and had forgotten it was sitting on my daughter’s shelf. This past week while researching Australian children’s authors and illustrators, I remembered that this was by Aussie Sonya Hartnett and was able to locate it after a bit of searching. I myself am and older sibling, and parent to two daughters so this book rang true from multiple perspectives. I love how Hannah names her hands and uses them to help her work through needing to grow-up just a big. The charcoal illustrations add to the story, particularly the personalities of Sadie & Ratz.

The Talented Clementine by Sara Pennypacker. I’m not sure how I haven’t read this Clementine story before this, my 2nd grader’s teacher recommended it to me and as with Clementine’s other stories, I wasn’t disappointed. I love the voice of this character, it feels authentic without going over the top – particularly the way that she thinks through things. I also love that the adults in Clementine’s life seem to “get” her and go with her free-spirited, unusual way of thinking.

Capture the Flag by Kate Messner is an adventure mystery that has a number of twists and turns (both literal and figurative) that  will keep you guessing about the outcome.

Do You Know Which Ones Will Grow? by Susan A. Shea asks readers to think about things that do and don’t grow as well as what they will become. The rhyming, illustrations and interactive fold-out pages make this a picture book that will be popular with a variety of young readers.

Look! Look! Look! At Sculpture by Nancy Elizabeth Wallace is a picture book that invites readers to consider the different ways to look at sculpture along with some friendly mice. Not only does this book encourage us to rethink how to enjoy sculpture, but is also shows readers how to create some of their own.

Next week I’ll be Reading…

I’m still working on Graceling – I want to read it when I have time to just sit and devour it. I also broke down and bought Insurgent – am looking forward to talking with my oldest daughter who as already read it. Lastly, I’m preparing for my upcoming visit to Australia by researching and reading books by Australian Authors and Illustrators (picture books through YA). If you have any favorites or suggestions, I’d love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday June 4, What Are You Reading?

  1. I hope you enjoy your trip to Australia, while not in Australia but New Zealand, my class always enjoy Australian writer Emily Rodda, and the girls the timeslip books by Belinda Murrell. I read The Ivory Rose by BM and enjoyed it.

  2. Yay! Another Code Name Verity fan! That’s my favorite book of 2012 and I so hope you’re right about the awards. I just read Sadie and Ratz tonight and thought it was wonderfully done. I loved Butterfly by Hartnett too. I really need to read Capture the Flag. Everybody has been raving about it!

Leave a Reply

