It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

This past week I read:

Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper -This is an amazing book, if you haven’t read it, you need to. The writing is amazing, the characters are amazing, the story takes my breath away even after reading it three times. My students and I discussed it this past thursday and had some pretty fantastic realizations about characters with disabilities, and ourselves as readers.

The Difference Between You and Me by Madeleine George – A received an ARC of this at ALA Midwinter when I told the publisher rep about TE448: Multicultural and Diversity in Children’s & YA Course at Michigan State. We are always on the lookout for books with accurate representations of characters from various under-represented groups, including the LGBTQ community. (not the best sentence, but you get the idea!) This is the story of three girls, Jesse who is an out lesbian, Emily (who Jesse is in love with) could be bisexual or questioning, and Esther whose orientation isn’t a key element in the story. All three characters (and more) have some stereotypical aspects to them – but nothing that solely defines them. I need to think and talk about this one some more.

(I do like this cover better than the one with the photographed legs – too many covers have used images like that lately.)

What I’m going to read this week:

I don’t know yet! I’m in the process of figuring out how to read books from Net Galley on my new iPad, so hopefully something from there. I’m also wrapping up a very busy semester and so will be grading papers, studying for a stats final, and reading some articles as I write up an action study I did in my only classroom.

I’ll also be reading some poetry as I get ready for Poem In Your Pocket day on Thursday!

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. Cool to hear about your students’ experience reading Out of My Mind. I know it gives quite a different perspective on disability and abilities. I still have it on my to-be-read pile.

    The Difference Between You and Me sounds like an interesting read. It’s funny, you mentioned the covers. I searched and found the other cover, which I much prefer!

Leave a Reply

