It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

This week I (finally) read:

Divergent by Veronica Roth – highly recommended by my 6th grade daughter as well as numerous other friends who know that I love dystopias. A definite thumbs up and yes, I am jealous of my friends who got their hands on the coveted ARC of Insurgent.

This coming week I will be reading:

Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper – the last of our common reads for book discussion in the children’s literature course that I teach. I read it when it first came out but I need to get myself back into the character and feelings of the book before class on Thursday. I listened to the first half during an unplanned 3 hour road trip — enjoying the audio but going to finish the text because it is faster for me. I’m just as struck by the charactes in this story as I was the first time – and not just Meloday but her parents (particularly her mother) and teachers as well. Can’t wait to hear what my students think!

Eyewitness Travel: Sydney – I just bought this because I’m going to be traveling to Australia this summer with a group of students from Michigan State University. We’ll be spending the bulk of our time in Sydney and I want to start to acclimate myself. I know this isn’t children’s lit, but is related for me because soon you’ll be seeing my reading list full of children’s and YA titles by Australian authors as I prepare to teach and learn about Australian Children’s Literature (recommendations welcome, especially those out of the mainstream!)

Lastly, I’ll still be reading papers and lesson plans to provide feedback for my students as we wrap up the semester together.

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. I had a couple of students (8th grade) read Out of My Mind. Sharon Draper is already a very popular author at our school, so this was popular too. They were really touched by the book and had good things to say about it. I should read it!!! Hope your students have good things to say about it.

    • It is definitely a must read… Draper’s writing captures a person living with a disability that doesn’t want pity. It is a fabulous story that is very “real” and has dynamic, engaging, and fabulous characters. Is one of my favorites! If you read it, I’d love to know what you think. 🙂

  2. I feel like a broken record, but I love when you show your lesson plans that you are grading. It wouldn’t be complete without those lesson plans. Not to be forgotten, they are truly reading, and I’m sure they take a lot of your time. I thought Divergent was a great read. I’m anxious for Insurgent, too! Have you read Delirium? I just finished the second, Pandemonium, a couple of weeks ago and love that series as well. 🙂

  3. Ooooh good choices! I have been recommending Divergent left and right to people stuck on our hold list for The Hunger Games, and it has been well received. I read Out of My Mind last year after seeing Sharon Draper speak at a conference and loved it. It would be interesting for students to compare it with Wonder.

  4. Divergent is such a fun read. One of those in which any flaws hardly register because you’re so caught up in the story. I hope Insurgent is as good! I just loved Melody and Out of My Mind. Such a powerful story. That’s so exciting you’re going to Australia! Make sure to include some Melina Marchetta when you’re reading Australian YA authors 🙂

Leave a Reply

