It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

This week I read:

Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu – I won this in a twitter giveaway by @WaldenPondPress, my eldest daughter (6th grade) had just finished it and said, “Mom you HAVE to read this, next, don’t wait!” She was right, I loved it; particularly all of the intertextual references to Narnia, Wrinkle in Time, When You Reach Me, and various fairy tales.

Green by Laura Vaccaro Seeger – This picture book is absolutely stunning. I will definitely be using it as one of the examples of this genre in future children’s literature courses. The use of colors to contrast the various greens and cutouts draw the reader in visually. The varied use of language to describe the color is beyond brilliant. (can you tell how much I love this by my overused adjectives – it really is THAT amazing, go get it NOW if you can!)

Stars by Mary Lyn Ray and Marla Frazee – Another stunning example of a picture book. The illustrations and the text work beautifully together. The are lovely and lyrical on their own, but together they are amazing. Frazee uses sequencing to enhance the story and the text is an excellent example of how brevity adds to a story. I will be purchasing this one for my shelf soon!

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams Garcia – This was a reread for me because the students in my children’s literature course were reading, writing and discussing it this week. It’s the first time I’ve used it in class and wanted to refresh my memory. The writing – particularly of the characters – were just as wonderful the second time through.

This week I’ll be reading:

Also recommended by daughter #1, I’m going to start Divergent by Veronica Roth. I don’t anticipate being able to finish it because of my other reading which includes papers about One Crazy Summer and 27 Language Arts Lesson Plans. Even at the end of the semester, I still read every word of what my students submit and give them some sort of feedback. If I want them to give me thoughtful consideration, than they deserve it back.

20120408-194159.jpg

27 Language Arts Lesson Plans to be read and given comments - I figured they deserved a photo too!

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m glad you added your lesson plans! That’s fun. It’s totally reading! I think I need to reread Breadcrumbs and focus on noticing all the connections with other texts because I really didn’t get that when I was reading it. I know people have talked about connections with the Snow Queen, and I really didn’t get that because I’ve never read the Snow Queen, but the books you listed, I have read. I had a friend just ask me if she should read Divergent. I think it’s a great book. I’m excited for Insurgent out in May!

    • Thanks so much for letting me know Jen! Will remedy next week for sure. This was the first time that I wrote my blog posts ahead of time, I must not have paid attention when I posted the link on your site (clearly)!

Leave a Reply

