It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Last week I read: 

Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins. On thursday, I had the opportunity to hear Ms. Perkins talk about her writing journey and meet her.

Kali’s Song by Jeanette Winter – I love the story and the illustrations. Check out Travis Jonker’s great review over at 100 Scope Notes

This week I’m reading:

Dead End in Norvelt – This year’s Newbery Winner by Jack Gantos

Hunger Games – this is a reread in preparation for the discussion in our children’s lit class on Thursday and the movie.

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. I thought about rereading Hunger Games before the movie but I reread parts recently when my husband read it for the first time so I decided not to. Are you reading or listening to Norvelt? I listened to the audio and Gantos reads it himself. It was interesting to hear him narrate the story.

  2. I read Kali’s Song this week, too. My 3yo liked it immediately (which surprised me, I hadn’t picked it up for her), but it took me a few reads to appreciate it. What did you think?

  3. I feel like I really need to reread Hunger Games now as so many students want to talk about all of the differences between the movie and the book.

    Did you like Criss Cross? I struggled with that one…

    I’m looking forward to Dead End- it seems intriguing and I love Gantos.

    Happy reading this week!

    • I enjoyed retreading Hunger Games with all of the buzz about it – I got a fresh perspective on parts of the plot and characters.
      Criss Cross took me a while to get into. I tried reading it last summer but didn’t finish – meeting the author was good incentive to revisit it. I enjoyed it this time around – though it is definitely about character development not plot.

      Norvelt was interesting – I’ve always liked Gantos as a writer, but this isn’t my favorite. I appreciate the writing and the story but I didn’t get “into it” as much as I would have liked. Will look forward to hearing what you think of it.

  4. What a great bunch of books! Criss Cross is actually one of my favorite Newberys. I love the slow pace where you really get to know the characters. I liked Dead End in Norvelt quite a bit too. I just finished my reread of The Hunger Games. I’m so glad I did it! I enjoyed the book just as much the second time around! I can’t wait to read Kali’s Song. I’ve heard such great things about it.

    • I really liked Criss Cross after I got into it and realized that it is essentially a character study. Kali’s Song is definitely a favorite pb of mine so far this year… though the list is getting long and it is only April!

Leave a Reply

