It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

Children’s/YA Lit Read Last Week: 

The One and Only Ivan – love, love, love this book. Check out my review here.

 

The Fault In Our Stars – I’ve been hearing about this and have had a signed copy sitting on my shelf since I got home from ALA Midwinter more than a month ago. When I woke up at 3:30 last night and couldn’t go back to sleep, I decided to start it. I started and couldn’t stop – I went back to sleep at 6 a.m. after I finished it. I am tired today but it was SO worth it.

Extra Yarn – I’d heard about this one and picked it up to read at the wonderful Pooh’s Corner children’s bookstore in Grand Rapids. The story is lovely and the pictures exquisite – it is now on my desk so that I can take it to class next week to share with my students.

Practicum Reading

The Torch Lighters: Tomorrow’s Teachers of Reading – this was a study headed up by Mary Austin at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Education and published in 1961. I’m reading it to get a better understanding of how people were thinking about training teachers to teach reading and if/how children’s literature played a role in those conceptions.

Next up: practicum writing — time to take a short break from reading and start to write about what I’ve found, more soon!

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

  1. I adore all of your reads from last week. It makes me so happy to see all of those books on your list this week. They are all amazing. It’s amazing how great the books we read are when we have great recommendations. I’m so glad to have my blog and Twitter friends to share great books with. I’m reading Extra Yarn for World Read Aloud day on Wednesday. I am so excited to share it with more kids!

Leave a Reply

