I ♥ #titletalk

The last sunday of the month from 8-9pm EST has become a favorite time for me. Why you ask…. because it’s #titletalk hosted by Donalyn Miller (@donalynbooks) and Colby Sharp (@colbysharp).

I love this time because it is an opportunity to talk in real time (also called synchronous) about children’s & young adult literature, reading, motivation, and teaching: favorite topics of mine that I am passionate about. I’m encouraging the students from both my children’s literature course (#kmcte348) and language arts methods course (#kmcte402) to follow along and join in.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you don’t like, know, understand twitter – please don’t let that stop you! You can follow along without participating and without a twitter account. If you are new to twitter and terminology like “tage”,”tweet” and “hashtag” are intimidating, following along was one way that I became more comfortable with twitter-land. If you just want to follow along: go to tweetchat.com, enter titletalk in the top box and hit enter.

If you want to know more or participate, read on!

The way that the conversation works is that everyone who wants to participate tags their tweets with #titletalk, then any tweet tagged with it will show up when you search for this hashtag.  I suggest using tweetchat.com to follow along for a few different reasons:

  • You don’t have to have a twitter account to follow along, just enter #titletalk
  • If you do have a twitter account, you sign in to tweetchat with your twitter login.
  • in order to participate in the conversation, you must enter the #titletalk, the first time I participated I kept forgetting to add it and couldn’t figure out why the weren’t showing up. A huge plus of tweetchat is that the tag is automatically placed in your tweet ensuring that are joining in the discussion.

Here are some tips for anyone interested in following along and/or joining in.

  • You can follow the conversation without joining in. This is what I did for the first time until I got the hang of things. I was a twitter newby and completely overwhelmed by the experience. Deciding to not participate for the first 15-20 minutes helped take the pressure off and allowed me to engage with the conversation.
  • That being said, join in! There are no dumb questions or comments, everyone has something to contribute or ask that helps each other (348 & 402 folks, I’m talking to you here!)
  • It moves fast, be prepared! This can be overwhelming, when I had students participate last semester some of them quit because they were frustrated by the speed. Give yourself some time to get used to it and be patient. You may not catch everything, but you’ll catch some of it and it will be worth it!
  • If you do miss something that you want to go back to, the entire chat is archived and posted as a pdf.
  • Some people open a separate window of their goodreads account or a separate document so that they can add titles as the conversation moves along.
  • If you want to know more about twitter in general, check out my previous post Tweet, Tweet, Tweet which includes some links to sites explaining and introducing twitter.

Hope to see you tonight!

2 thoughts on “I ♥ #titletalk

    • Thanks so much Susan! I’m encorporating asking my preservice teachers to join in on the next one – it is such an amazing hour to get insight, suggestions and (of course) titles from other teachers. Hope it is helpful for your students & fellow teachers!

Leave a Reply

