It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

 

Last week I read:

*Thanks to Mr. Schu for bringing the first three with him to Ann Arbor!!!

Boy and Bot by Amy Dyckman & Dan Yaccarino

 

Backseat A-B-See  by Maria van Lieshout

Me Want Pet by Tammi Sauer & Bob Shea

Dead End In Norvelt by Jack Gantos

This week I am reading: 

Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu

I won this book on Twitter from Walden Pond Press and am loving it. Actually having a hard time putting it down to get grading finished. So far my favorite line is reference to Turkish Delight.

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

I am rereading this in preparation for our discussion in TE348 (Reading & Responding to Children’s Literature) this week. It is the first time that I have used it in class and am looking forward hearing and reading what my students think about it.

 

 

Statistics for the Utterly Confused by Lloyd Jaisingh

I am taking my last course as a doctoral students. I am taking statistics. The past few weeks I have been swimming around in a haze of psuedo-understanding – I’m hoping that this book will help me to review what we’ve done and get through the last few weeks.

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. I was just talking to my son’s preschool teacher today about working on counting and numbers with him. I told her I’m not really a math/numbers person, I am great when it comes to reading and okay with numbers, but we don’t practice them that much. The idea of taking a statistics class right now does not sound fun. How exciting that it’s your last class though!

    I had a hard time reading One Crazy Summer. I think it was a combination of having a hard time understanding and relating to the mom and the whole business of the Black Panthers. I don’t think I had enough background knowledge to really grasp what was going on with the Black Panther part of the story.

    P.S. Isn’t it fun getting to be the one behind the camera when John and Colby make a video? They are fun to watch talk books live. :)

    • I know what you mean about One Crazy Summer. I had trouble with the mom as well and ended up looking up other information about the Black Panthers. One of the reasons that I chose it for my class is that I think it pushed me as a reader to think about what isn’t often written about in children’s literature. I’m looking forward to hearing what my students think about it!

      I LOVED filming John & Colby – they have so much fun talking about books.

Leave a Reply

