It’s Monday, What are you Reading

Children’s/YA Lit Read Last Week:

  I loved it and am still thinking about Deza & Jimmie. Looking forward to heading to Ann Arbor tomorrow to meet Christopher Paul Curtis at Nicola’s Books. <update: just found out it’s been canceled due to illness, hoping it will be rescheduled soon!>

Next up:

I have heard so many great things about this, I’m excited to start it.

Practicum Reading:
(I know this isn’t children’s/ya lit, but it pertains to my practicum work about children’s/YA lit in the classroom so I’ve decided to start including it in my posts. More on the practicum in a future post.)

Why Johnny Can’t Read – Rudolph Flesch – the 1955 edition.
WOW! The language that he uses in here to discredit and discount teacher and teacher researchers cuts right to the quick. Flesch also published a version of his work in a research journal which I’m going to hunt down this week to read.

Next up:

Jeanne Chall’s The Great Debate, published in 1967. I’m reading this to have a better understanding of how the “reading wars” debate between whole word and phonics started.

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What are you Reading

Leave a Reply

