Tweet tweet tweet

Today in my children’s literature course we’re going to continue our exploration of Children’s Literature on the Web. For the first four weeks of class, I asked students to select a blog about children’s or YA literature that was interesting to them and follow it. Some of the weeks, we had conversations in class about what we were finding/learning/discovering. Each week I asked them to post a list of things that they had found interesting on a discussion board of our class website.

Today, I’m going to introduce them to the world of children’s literature and twitter. I have @Colby Sharp to thank for this. When his fourth grade class skyped with my undergrad students, one of the things that he mentioned was how important twitter has become for him for pd and connecting with other teachers. Then, at NCTE, I attended a fantastic session with Sarah Mulhern Gross (@thereadingzone), Donalyn Miller (@donalynbooks), Cindy Minnich (@cbethm), Meenoo Rami (@mrami2), & Colby Sharp (@colbysharp) titled: POUND FOR #: TWITTER HASHTAGS FOSTER POWERFUL PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND FUEL LITERACY INITIATIVES

Here are some sources that I’ve found that may be helpful for those new to twitter, or for those who have never considered it as a professional platform:

Twitter 101 - “New to Twitter? Been there a little while, but don’t really understand what’s going on?” Not an official twitter site, but very very helpful.

The Twitter Guidebook – very thorough and easy to navigate, divided into chapters

Clarifications for “rules” – This is a great post that clarifies ideas like ‘tweet a lot’ and ‘follow everyone’

#4pound – this is the fantastic google doc created for the NCTE presentation I mentioned earlier. It explains hashtags and talks about some that are specific to children’s literature and teaching.

Hashtags and twitter chats are two aspects that I particularly enjoy. Here are some that I follow:

  • #titletalk
  • #bookaday
  • #nerdybookclub
  • #engchat

I put a query out on twitter and here were some other suggestions (I have not followed or used these yet, but am planning on it):

  • #edchat
  • #elmchat
  • #teachchat
  • #kidlitchat
  • #kidlit
  • #rwworkshop

What are some of your favorite hashtags, people, trends to follow on twitter? How does it inform your thinking about children’s literature, teaching, reading, etc.?

3 thoughts on “Tweet tweet tweet

  1. I would be very curious to see which blogs your students enjoyed reading!

    I am a Children’s librarian, coincidentally also in the greater Lansing area.

    Some of my favorite people to follow are my fellow #flannelfriday-ers, who post a felt/flannel board story every Friday. Here are a few: @MelissaZD, @daisycakes, @opinionsbyanna, @molliekay, @ReadingChick, @storytimingcate, @aflemming.

    Also enjoy: @100scopenotes, @librarianbyday, @hhibner, @librarymary40, @RogerReads, and @MrSchuReads.

    I am sure I left a ton of people out, but all of these are good folks. :)

    Have any of your students explored Pinterest at all? They might be inspired by some of the good ideas on there. I wrote a post on my blog about using it for work purposes: http://www.sotomorrowblog.com/2012/01/pinterest-for-librarians.html.

  2. Pingback: I ♥ #titletalk | Children's Literature Crossroads

Leave a Reply

