I GEEK LIBRARIANS!!!

I have been a huge fan of librarians from a very young age. The Peninsula Community Library  was my first “home” library & Mrs. Arney, the librarian, quickly became one of my favorite people. She somehow always new what sorts of books I would like and always wanted to know what I thought about what I read. Mostly I remember that she talked to me the same way she talked to adults. Starting at the age of 4, my opinion as a reader was valued.

Flash forward to today. I am in Dallas, Texas attending my first American Library Association conference. I have met some amazing people. As a member of ALSC (Association for Library Service to Children) I attended my first committee meeting for the Liaison for National Organizations Serving Children and Youth. I got to meet someone in person (Hi Merri!); she and I took an online Newbery Award course last summer. The other committee members were also lovely. After our meeting Stephanie was kind enough to mentor me in the finer points of navigating the exhibits. I met more people, got more books, signed up to win prizes, got more books, picked up some swag for my kids, and talked with reps from more publisher than I can remember.

One of the things that has been the most rewarding for me has been the conversations with people about my interest in talking across the disciplines of education and library science. I connected colleagues in various positions (children’s services, curriculum resource centers, publishing, etc.) that were supportive and encouraging. I’m looking forward to continuing conversations with many of them both virtually and in-person.

Lastly, tomorrow morning, I’ll be waking up extra early to attend the announcements of the Youth Media Awards. For the past 3 years, I’ve listened to the live webcast. Here is the link for tomorrow’s live webcast, I like to have a cup of tea while I’m listening.  It’s hard for me to believe that I will be there in person tomorrow. There have been numerous mock elections and many blog posts about possible winners for the past few weeks. Last year’s Newbery and Caldecott winners were surprises to many, it will be interesting to see what this year will bring. I can only imagine what a difficult decision it was for the committees of all of the awards. I’ll be tweeting during the awards announcements and writing a blog post as well!

3 thoughts on “I GEEK LIBRARIANS!!!

Leave a Reply

