MLK Artwork

I often miss google artwork because I use iGoogle. I’m so glad that I didn’t miss today’s by the amazing Faith Ringgold.

“One of the great liabilities of history is that all too many people fail to remain awake through great periods of social change. Every society has its protectors of status quo and its fraternities of the indifferent who are notorious for sleeping through revolutions. Today, our very survival depends on our ability to stay awake, to adjust to new ideas, to remain vigilant and to face the challenge of change.”
― Martin Luther King Jr.

I’ve been a fan of Faith Ringgold’s artwork and picture books since I was an elementary music teacher and discovered Aunt Harriet’s Underground Railroad In The Sky the year I taught all of my K-4 students about Jazz Music, beginning with the roots of slavery. Today, one of the books I will be reading with my daughters is My Dream of Martin Luther King (along with others!)

When I went to her website to find the links for this post, I discovered a project that Ms. Ringgold has created on her website called Racial Questions and Answers. She asks readers to consider what they would feel and think if they woke up tomorrow with different color skin. While I can never truly know what it is like to have skin of any other color than white, this is a thought-provoking exercise. It is also interesting to look at the answers that other people have written. Her website is full of treasures including a page called Story Time which tells How the People Became Color Blind, (Here is a link to the same story with illustrations). She invites

Children’s literature is one way to share in the amazing work of the Reverand Dr. Martin Luther King. Yesterday, I attended a concert in his honor (with my husband and youngest daughter, my oldest was performing). I know many people use today as a day of service and reflection. As I read and talk about today with my daughters, I want to not only honor the work of those who have come before us – but also the work that has yet to be done.

Addition: Check out thebrownbookshelf’s 28 Days Later to hear from a different author of color each day – some up-and-coming and others more established.

2 thoughts on “MLK Artwork

Leave a Reply

